1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Alan G. Figuring out what causes flare-ups

Discussion in 'Ask a TMS Therapist' started by Ellen, Nov 15, 2014.

1. Ellen

Ellen Beloved Grand Eagle

This question was submitted via our Ask a TMS Therapist program. To submit your question, click here.

Question
    I've been working on my TMS recovery for about 18 months. After about a year of work, I was able to get rid of my chronic pain syndromes and eliminate all the medication I was taking for my symptoms. However, I still have some TMS equivalents that I'm working on, i.e. anxiety, depression, fatigue, and allergy symptoms.

I'm just getting over a two-day major flare-up of TMS which literally put me in bed, where my unconscious threw about four major symptoms at me at once. About a day and a half into the flare-up, I finally realized that it was TMS. TMS had "overplayed its hand" and I realized it was unlikely that I was coincidentally having several medical conditions at once.:)It's hard to believe that I didn't get this sooner, but once I did, my symptoms were alleviated in a few hours and I was back to my normal level of TMS equivalents.

So now I am trying to figure out what triggered this major flare-up, and why my unconscious was so desperate to distract me. This is my best guess, as nothing else was going on at the time: the afternoon before the flare-up I was reading this wonderful book by Thich Nhat Hahn on using mindfulness to address fear. So that evening when I went to bed I decided to use one of his mindfulness techniques to address this constant level of generalized anxiety I carry around. I attempted to really focus on the feelings and not push them away--embrace them so to speak. Eventually, I lost my focus and must have fallen asleep for awhile. Later, I woke up and began having my symptom flare-up.