1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

I ran a marathon last week

Discussion in 'Success Stories Subforum' started by JTaylor, Oct 23, 2022.

Tags:
  1. JTaylor

JTaylor New Member

I haven’t been on this forum for months. In fact, I haven’t really thought much about TMS over the last few months. I still experience pain everyday. It mainly only affects the middle finger of my right hand now and this is 30-50% better than it was, depending on the day. My shoulder and wrist pain is pretty much gone now. All I can say is that I stopped thinking about it. At one point, I was journaling, reading TMS books and listening to experts everyday, but I found this didn’t help my pain. It only started to get better when I ignored it (easier said than done!)

I have been running on and off for about 6 years now. I ran my first 10k race in October last year and my first half marathon at the end of the year. This year I’ve ran 3 more 10k races, 3 half marathons and just ran my first marathon last weekend. I told myself I couldn’t do it so many times. I experienced set backs during my training, such as pain in my leg muscles (which I realised was caused by TMS). I was also dealing with so much in my personal life and felt like giving up so many times. When I crossed the finish line last week I felt like crying. It was such an overwhelming feeling. It was mentally and physically exhausting but I didn’t give up.

I did something I never thought I was capable of and now I know I am capable of doing so much more than I ever thought. Although I’m not fully recovered, I am hopeful there will be a day that I can wake up without pain. I’m signed up for my next marathon next April and hope to do more 10k’s and half marathons in between.