1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

My process to alleviate the pain

Discussion in 'Mindbody Blogs (was Practitioner's Corner)' started by JulieMTherapy, Apr 22, 2019.

1. JulieMTherapy

JulieMTherapy Peer Supporter

Hi everyone! I'm a TMS therapist and coach. I wrote this blog post on how I work with people to alleviate the pain. I'm happy to answer any questions :)
    https://juliemarkowitztherapy.com/blog/why-am-i-in-pain (Why am I in pain???)

Why am I in pain???

Welcome! I’m glad you’re here fellow pain sufferer.

You are in pain because your body is communicating with you. The first thing to realize is: the pain is NOT dangerous! The pain is just a neutral sensation in your body like a swift breeze blowing through your hair on a hot day.

The mind and the body are intrinsically linked. Your body is telling you something about the way you’re feeling EMOTIONALLY. The pain serves as a distraction from feelings you don’t want to think about.

Some feelings that cause physical pain:

1. Feeling out of control-ex. worrying about things that you have no power to effect. A lot of times people want to control other people but the truth is: all we can control is our own behavior.

2. Feeling like you’re being controlled-ex. feeling as the someone makes decisions for you and you cannot say no. You don’t have a way to disagree.

3. Anger-ex. anger gets a bad rap in our society. Aggression is totally normal. You are allowed to be angry at whatever you want to be it does NOT have to be justified. If you need to scream, scream! It’s ok.

4. Feeling burdened-ex. Do you take care of everyone around you? Do you feel you need to please others? This can make you feel angry and resentful. Care taking can be wonderful but as cliche as it is, in order to take care of others, you need to feel taken care of yourself.