1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Need help progressing my recovery

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by dbarro, Feb 5, 2014.

1. dbarro

dbarro New Member

Hi All,

I am brand new to this or any forum on TMS. I have only read the books. I am looking for a little help with some struggles I am having with TMS. Long story short, I have struggled with back and hip pain for 10 years and had always thought my ailment to be physical in nature until reading Dr. Sarno's books. I have had MRI's and have been to countless doctors and various treatments with little to no success.

I have read Dr. Sarno's first 2 books twice and I am currently on "The Divided Mind." Although I have seen some improvement, I feel as though I have plateaued. I am better than I was, but still get the pain returning and feel that it is a constant battle that is not progressing any further. Reading the books helps and I can usually help alleviate the pain if I can get some time to stop what I am doing and really think about what is bothering me (not as easy as it sounds).

I am discouraged as I feel that I have pounded the logic of TMS into my brain long enough for things to be better. I had hoped my pain would be gone by now as I really do grasp the concepts in Dr. Sarno's books and accept the diagnosis of TMS.

Is there any advice or help that you can provide to help me break through this barrier? I really appreciate any suggestions you may have.

2. Mermaid

Mermaid Well known member

Hi dbarro,

Welcome to the forum welcomea