1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Newbie here. Experiencing pain while sitting.

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by runnergirl773, Dec 9, 2020.

1. runnergirl773

runnergirl773 New Member

Hello there! Long-time listener, first-time caller :)

My pain story began in 2015 with arm and rotator cuff pain, with neck, upper trap and back pain added to the mix regularly, but not constantly. I tried numerous treatments and consulted several doctors, undergoing diagnostic testing. Ultimately, I elected to have surgery Dec. 6, 2018 to repair a tear in my left rotator cuff.

Surgery, recovery, and rehabilitation were a breeze for me, thankfully. It didn’t take long for the range of motion in my left arm to get back to 100%. However, the neck and upper trap still bothered me daily, and sometimes excruciatingly. I knew surgery might not solve the neck pain, but it was frustrating nonetheless when the pain remained, not slowing down in frequency or intensity. I was doing all of the exercises my physical therapist laid out for me religiously. I didn’t understand why nothing was changing.

Then my husband gave me Healing Back Pain. I was hopeful, but skeptical.

I read the book twice. I marked it up, starred passages, and found myself saying, “Yes! This is me!” I devoured Dr. Sarno’s follow up The Mindbody Prescription as well. I felt better and was telling everyone I knew about the book.