1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Resuming vigorous physical activity

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by rain, Jul 5, 2018.

1. rain

rain New Member

Hi there,

I'm just getting started with TMS and started reading the 'great pain deception' book today. One of the things that stuck out for me is when he talks about the pillars of TMS healing, including resuming vigorous physical activity.

I'm trying to understand how to come to terms with that. I've been dealing with hip/back/glutes/foot/neck pain for 18 months now and even something as simple as crossing my legs causes pain that can last for days on end. If I understand what's mentioned in the book correctly, the idea is that your fear of resuming vigorous physical activity is what might be getting in the way of your healing process, especially if one continues to believe that structural issues are at the root of it.

How do you create a balance between restarting physical activities that you used to do prior to onset of symptoms vs. causing physical pain that will leave you hurting for days? Is the idea that you go through intense, hopefully short-lived pain that will result in long-term healing? I understand the idea of maybe taking small steps in the direction of doing what you used to be able to do, but curious how others approached this topic.

Thanks.

2. JanAtheCPA

JanAtheCPA Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi rain, and welcome.

Steve O is a great start, and you should check out our free programs as well. There's the Structured Educational Program, and Alan Gordon's TMS Recovery Program.