1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Support for my TMS journey

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Gmalen, Jun 30, 2022.

1. Gmalen

Gmalen Newcomer

Greetings, I'm new here and wanted to share my experience, connect, and affirm that I am on track. I've been working with tms for 6 months or so now. Things got worse recently so jumped back into it a month ago - currently, doubt is creeping in and my pain is not really improving this last month.

I have been journaling most days, doing therapy once a week, and remembering the TMS principles throughout the day while just ignoring the pain as best as I can. I don't feed the obsessive fixation/thinking about the pain. I just let it ride, but it's still there. I just try and not fuss about it.

My main symptom is pain from sitting (lower back / mid back) or from maintaining any position (standing, walking, laying) for 20+ minutes. Things start to ache, tighten, etc. Thus, I constantly change positions as the pain/aching slowly builds up. In summary of what i found on TMS Wiki about sitting pain symptoms is this: "Doesn't matter how long you sit. If you are conditioned to believing it will occur, then it will. There would be 3 causes to back problems as put in sarnos books, current stressors, past events and personality traits. Sit as much as you want it doesn't cause back problems."