1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Yoga/Pilates: Focus on muscle soreness

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by PepperGirl, Jul 20, 2013.

1. PepperGirl

PepperGirl Peer Supporter

Hi everyone
    I wonder if anyone has had similar experience - I have been working on my TMS recovery for a few months now and making progress but still a big part of my life and I feel I still have a lot to do to feel fully 'recovered'. My right leg which I believed for ages to be sciatica as a result of herniated disc, but since surgery 9 months ago I know now the leg pain to be TMS, but what I don't understand is even though the pain is much better, the flexibility in my leg is very limited and I can only raise my leg straight when lying down on my back to about 60 degrees. I think it is muscle pain rather than nerve pain, but then I suppose it shouldn't really matter as the pain is ultimately TMS. I suppose I get discouraged by the severe tightness of my leg and wonder why the flexibility isn't much better even though the pain is less than it was. I go to Pilates classes (which is of course in itself a massive goal) and wonder if I should actively stretch the painful/tight leg or is this focusing on the physical rather than the psychological. Also, sometimes I crave a sports massage to relieve the tightness but then again I don't as this is focus on the physical once more. Does anyone else have a similar experience? Anyone feel that massage can help or the wrong focus?Before the whole thing started (before my pregnancy in September 2012) I was very much into yoga/Pilates and used to be pretty