1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Back pain is back!

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by heidicat27, Jul 9, 2019.

1. heidicat27

heidicat27 New Member

I haven't been here in a while. I previously had sciatic, back pain, piriformis syndrome, etc and struggled with it for years. It finally went away last year and the shoulder started acting up. Well, that finally resolved and I've been doing really well for the last 4 months. Until Sunday.

I'm trying to start running again and I think my mind just knows that I'm scared of my sciatica/back pain coming back. I jogged a few days last week and it's back. For the first time in a year, all of those awful lower back pains are back.

I guess I'll be reading up, doing my mental exercises, etc. And running. I won't let this deter me! Wish me luck!

JanAtheCPA likes this.
  2. Jimnat7

Jimnat7 Peer Supporter

Just keep running. Dont give in. The back pain wants to intimidate you. Keep running, keep reading and keep staying positive.

3. heidicat27

heidicat27 New Member

So I didn't go for my intended run outside (it was 90 degrees out), but I went to my gym early and ran 2 miles on the treadmill in 16 minutes. Then I took a cross training class and then a Krav Maga class. I went through it ALL with no issues. I'm laying here in bed with some tightness in my ankles, knees, hamstrings (you know, that typical sciatica tightness) but I can't help but laugh. If this was a real injury, I wouldn't have been able do go through 2 solid hours of running, lifting weights, grappling, etc.

Man, the mind is strange.

plum and JanAtheCPA like this.
  4. Jimnat7

Jimnat7 Peer Supporter

2 hours of exercise with little or no pain proves this is tms and not structural. Don't be intimidated. Just run and enjoy. Running helps bloodflow so it should help with tms.

heidicat27 likes this.