1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Continued pain

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by rcal43, May 12, 2021.

1. rcal43

rcal43 New Member

Hi, I have been working with TMS treatments since 2014. Initially, I found some relief, ~50% reduction in pain (lower back) after reading all the books, looking at materials on this site, seeing Dr. Rashbaum (confirmed TMS), seeing a therapist and journaling, took about 3 months. I am now back to where I started. I have re-read all the books, read other online sources, seen Dr. Rashbaum again (still TMS) and been journaling. I have moved and changed jobs, I am no longer near the old therapist and I can't currently afford one that doesn't take a least some insurance. (if you know of one anywhere in the USA I will do Zoom).

I am very discouraged and upset with myself for not fully committing and making some progress that I can seize and can use to boost my belief in the diagnosis. I don't know what more I can do to drum it into my head. I keep having nibbling doubts it's not TMS that I think undermine any progress.

Has anyone dealt with this successfully? Any suggestions?

Happy to provide more details if helpful.
    Thank you for your help, Ryan

2. Zuz

Zuz Peer Supporter

I am so sorry you are going trough this.

I am new to this and have hopes for my 21 year old back pain... i feel personally my fear of the pain is huge and the fact that I am not completely convinced it is only tms ( lots of it of course) is definitely a block. I think one thing that helps is reminding oneself that structural injuries do heal with time.
    I think that the therapist who does podcasts here Alan Gordon has a center where they take skype patients.
    Wishing you to find what does your brain is trying to hide you from and get pain free again ++

3. rcal43

rcal43 New Member