1. Our TMS drop-in chat is today (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM DST Eastern U.S.(New York). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support. JanAtheCPA is today's host. Click here for more info or just look for the red flag on the menu bar at 3pm Eastern.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 39 Day 39

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by nowtimecoach, Dec 4, 2013.

1. nowtimecoach

nowtimecoach Well known member

Describe the best day, event, experience you have had since starting this program. What about this experience did you find so meaningful?
    Well I am not sure I would describe this as my best day as I was in pain. But it served up a great example of how TMS works for me. I was scheduled to do a massage on a friend of mine. I used to be a full time massage therapist but now only do it sporadically for friends and when I need to make some extra cash. Well as I was driving to her house, I could feel the TMS acting up. It continued and started roaring during the massage to the point I was in a lot of distracting pain. I completed the massage because I did not want to give the TMS the power to change this.
    When I got home, I knew I had to go for a walk, something to increase the oxygen in my back. On the walk, I was distressed about the pain and just kept repeating -think psychological, not physical. I kept trying to peel the onion of emotions I was feeling (or NOT feeling) I hit upon a core nugget. I was repressing a feeling of "being a loser." At this point in time, I am not producing much income from work and I was angry at myself that I "had" to do a massage to make some cash. This touched that very old self-esteem wound.