1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

[First post]IBS and back pain

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by determined_75, Jul 28, 2017.

1. determined_75

determined_75 New Member

Hello all -

This is my first time posting on the TMSWiki, though I have been a lurker for a while. I have read Healing Back Pain, The MindBody Prescription, and some material from Dr. Schecter and Steve Ozanich. I want to immerse myself in the community for a bit of support :)

I haven't officially been diagnosed with TMS, but I can tell you that I know I have it. I match the personality, and have been diagnosed with IBS, disk herniation (and sciatica), stenosis, anxiety, and OCD. Another thing that convinced me I have TMS is that when I really started to read/learn about it, my symptoms shifted. I felt extreme lethargy/weakness for a couple of days.

I feel like my back (and sciatica) has gotten a bit better, though my IBS hasn't changed at all. My back only started bothering me a few years ago, while my IBS has been with me for over 20 years.

At times I find the amount of info and opinions on TMS overwhelming. I'm trying to keep it simple and stick with Sarno's teachings. For those out there that have had success, how would you simplify what has worked for you? If you were to focus on just a few points that Sarno stressed, what would they be? I'm aware of the 12 daily reminders, and admittedly need to spend a bit more time each day on this :)

Thanks for taking the time to read!

Lily Rose and Lunarlass66 like this.
  2. Lunarlass66

Lunarlass66 Well known member