1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Food intolerance and TMS

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by oicani, Apr 8, 2014.

1. oicani

oicani New Member

I am here because of my back pain.
    However, I have found today that food intolerance may be also related to TMS.
    Before my back pain issue, I have suffered from IBS until the doctors suggested that I might be lactose intolerant, and I stopped taking any dairy products. Since then IBS is under control.
    Then came the back pain which I am trying to control via this TMS forum.
    My question is if anybody knows about this lactose intolerance and TMS? Has Dr. Sarno mentioned his opinion about that?
    Any input will be appreciated.

2. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle

I'm not a doctor or an authority on lactose intolerance but it's good that your doctor's suggestion to stop
    taking dairy products has gotten your IBS under control.

I do wonder, however, that if you never had a problem with diary products before,
    maybe it came on from TMS, from repressed emotions or a personality thing (perfectionism,
    wanting to be liked, etc.).

Your unconscious mind may have stopped the IBS but moved pain to your back. It does that,
    trying to get you to think more on the psychological cause(s) of the pain it is sending you.

I don't recall reading anything specific about food in Dr. Sarno's books, but since your
    doctors did not say they found anything physically or structurally wrong with you,
    it looks to me like TMS.

I suggest you read Dr. Sarno's Healing Back Pain and begin the free Structural Education Program
    you will find among the forums. It can help you to learn how to heal from the back or other pain
    or discomfort.

Let us know how you progress.

Lotus likes this.
  3. balto

balto Beloved Grand Eagle