1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

How to handle bad pregnancy advice...any tips?

Discussion in 'Community Off Topic' started by MindBodyPT, Jul 21, 2017.

1. MindBodyPT

MindBodyPT Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi all,

So I am relatively recently pregnant (still in first trimester!) and have come to realize how toxic it is for me to listen to people’s weird advice. I think it stems from my TMS experiences with doctors giving me bad advice about back pain and the culture of fear around it…don’t lift anything heavy, don’t carry a heavy purse, don’t twist your back, etc. Obviously this was all totally wrong and I lift weights and do whatever I want now with no back pain!

I’ve had some experiences with people becoming upset when I tell them i’m doing pilates, weight lifting, drinking a little coffee, or something else they feel is “bad” for me and the baby, and this is a big anxiety trigger for me. I am thorough with my research on this stuff, have read up on it and have a good handle on what is ok for me to do! There is such a culture of fear around pregnancy, as there is with TMS related issues…i’m already getting tired of it and I still have a while to go.

Has anyone else dealt with this? I think i’ve offended some people by just saying “thanks for the advice but i’m not going to do things that way.” I can’t be around people who constantly feel the need to do this and have probably upset them (one person in particular this happened with). People can be really aggressive with telling you what they think is right for your body and I find this so tough to handle!

Lily Rose likes this.
  2. Ewok

Ewok Peer Supporter

Smile and nod. Thank them for the advice. Don't even tell them you're going to disregard it, then you don't have to debate. Then go ahead and do what you know is right for you. :)

Lily Rose, MindBodyPT and Ellen like this.
  3. Ellen