1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Newcomer. IBS issues.

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Mazzone10, Mar 10, 2023.

Tags:
  1. Mazzone10

Mazzone10 New Member

Hi all,

I am a newbie to TMS and I'm looking for advice for a stomach issue. I have put IBS in the title as it's a little vague, which sums up where I am at the moment.

To give a brief background, I have had a longstanding issue with anxiety and IBS going back around 22 years. I get periods of a few months of intense anxiety, usually at times of stress or change. It's usually pretty predictable. I hate it but it usually dies down and I'm fine.

With IBS this has been less predictable. The issue was off and on for a few years. At points I stopped gluten and dairy and had a limited life. A couple of years ago I got totally fed up with all the labels I gave myself and decided to just wean back onto foods I classed as troublesome. Apart from the odd week or so a few times a year my stomach was completely fine.

Fast forward to now and I'm having a lot of issues. They vary each day and sometimes are completely absent. The issues are a burning, twisting pain in the gut, irregular toilet visits, full stomach, gas (both ends ). This has carried on for a few months, which is puzzling to be honest. I am awaiting a few tests from the doctor to rule out anything physical.

I understand that what I've described above sounds like typical IBS, and I expect the doctors results not to pick anything up. That said I have gotten over this issue myself before so I am completely open to this being pyschosomatic.