1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Re-Conditioniong Triggers & Tension

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by donavanf, Oct 7, 2016.

Tags:
  1. donavanf

donavanf Well known member

Hi guys. I have a question about triggers & tension. I'm a photographer. My favorite hobby since I was a teenager, it's now a full time profession, and has been since about two years ago. Before my main TMS episode in 2013 (severe upper back pain/neck pain/headaches began after a trip to NYC with dysfunctional family), holding a camera, sitting at a computer, doing anything related to photography never caused me soreness or pain. If I shot a wedding or held my camera for many hours, I might have a few days of mild soreness, but it always went away completely within 3 days at most. I didn't think about it much. In 2013, when my "muscular TMS" hit, I couldn't pick up my camera for 6 months. Couldn't use a computer. Almost gave up photography all together. It broke my heart, because it was my biggest passion. Luckily, I found Dr. Sarno's books, found myself on every page and had a "book cure" which lasted about a week. Of course, it came right back the minute I returned to Physical Therapy. I then found Dr. David Schechter, who confirmed TMS. He told me that my camera wasn't causing my pain. Nor was my computer. My brain was. Specifically, my rage was. After hearing my childhood and life story (a mountain of stuff) he said I had "TMS on Steroids". When I asked him if he was sure, he said, "107% sure, you are a classic case of TMS". I felt better. For a while. I've read all the books, from Ozanich