1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Some set backs

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Trent, Jan 9, 2013.

1. Trent

Trent New Member

Hi everyone. I am pretty new to this. About 10 days. My first 4 days were unbelievable. I told everyone close to me about this miracle. I just bought Dr. Sarno's 3rd and 4th books (mind body prescription and divided mind). I haven't started them yet so as of now I have only read healing back pain. Anyway, I knew I was lucky to have had such an immediate response when first reading the book, but I went in fully believing and figured this was why it was working so great.

The last 3-4 days I have woken up with the old symptoms again (pain in sciatica, down the leg past the knee and ankle area) but the back itself has been better still. But after being so excited, it has been quite depressing to have to ask my wife once again to help me put my socks on. She is incredibly supportive, but I have felt embarrassed after parading around the home feeling like a healed new man and now getting some doubt.

I keep reading some bookmarked pages that Dr. Sarno says to read every day and I am fighting my brain but sometimes i dont know exactly what i am looking for when trying to think of the repressed anger/anxiety. The good thing is I have forced myself to go workout each morning while trying to ignore this pain. And after my morning workout I am usually pain free for the remainder of the day. But on the ride to the gym in the morning I have to stop a few times to stick my leg out of the door because the pressure and pain explodes down my leg.