1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Stage Fright

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by keyboardplaya, Sep 13, 2020.

1. keyboardplaya

keyboardplaya New Member

Hello TMS community,

I am a professional pianist and have long suffered stage fright. I am calm and in control when playing alone but as soon as eyes are on me (depending on the situation), I often get anxious. And for me (and all tms people), anxiety=pain. Nobody knows about my struggle except for me. Does anyone have any recommendations for how I can overcome my stage fright. I practice very hard (well over 10,000 hours) and have been playing since I was a baby. I have been playing for nearly 30 years. I have performed all over the world and done literally thousands of gigs.

The ideas I had were: 1. to let myself be anxious. Don't fight it. Just let it be there and continue playing anyway. Fighting the fear is what makes it worse. Letting it be there will undo it. 2. I also have been trying to remind myself, "I am great, I am a master at this, this is easy, there's no pressure, I have absolutely nothing to prove". Stuff like that. What do y'all think?

2. Dorado

Dorado Beloved Grand Eagle

It sounds like you are tremendously talented! Even the best performers get stage fight.