1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Anorexia and TMS

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by tarakiyo, Dec 10, 2023.

1. tarakiyo

tarakiyo Newcomer

Hi all! I'm new to this thread and fairly new to TMS in general but have come to accept it as my likely diagnosis. I have had pain in one area or another from probably age 16 to now (34). My pain has come on unexpectedly or in ways that didn't really make sense 90% of the time and was unresponsive to physical therapy. I have also had gut issues and allergies. I fit the type "T" personality almost exactly - perfectionistic, highly responsible and self critical, anxious and obsessive. I am extremely obsessive and anxious over my pain and spent years and years looking for the cause and a possible fix to all of my "injuries." I bought every gadget, tried all the acupunture, chiropractic, gut healing routines, supplements, massage, red light etc. You name it I tried it.

The reason doctors gave me for my being unresponsive to treatment, and the one thing holding me back from fully accepting TMS as a diagnosis, is the fact that I developed anorexia at the age of 12 and have been battling an eating disorder for 22 years in some form or another. For a lot of years this looked like overexercise so it was assumed that I was overusing my body and creating injury. Then when I wasn't exercising as much it was assumed that I was nutrient deficient in some form or another.