1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Chronic rectal pain from painless spasm

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by JDSR71, Nov 15, 2023.

1. JDSR71

JDSR71 New Member

I’m new to this Support Forum. I hope someone can give me some helpful advice as I'm desperate for relief from my pain.

About 5 years ago I pushed my clothes dryer a few inches when I felt a < 2-second painless spasm in my abdominal area. Over the following week it evolved into dull left-sided rectal pain along with bi-lateral upper thigh burning sensations. Also, I've periodically been experiencing small fasciculations throughout my body's muscles, though they are not painful. Fortunately, I have no trouble sitting. I had a thorough medical work-up which included MRIs, EMGs, an MRN and numerous other tests all of which were normal. My anxiety, fear and depression have been terrible wondering when/if this miserable pain will ever end, however, I’m losing hope. When I exercise I can sometimes feel a “tugging" sensation in my rectal area whereupon I get bad flare-ups of my pain. One year ago while standing and talking to someone I’d just met I experienced a similar quick spasm in my abdomen which has resulted in chronic right-sided scrotal pain. The pain feels very real in the tissues but I wonder how such minimal “insults” (the two very quick spasms) could have started this cascade of terrible pain.