1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Hello and some questions about my journey

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by gauche, Apr 7, 2023.

Tags:
  1. gauche

gauche Newcomer

Hi folks,

I'm fairly new to TMS, having recently discovering it almost by accident. I've read through most of Dr Sarno's work (actually, I listened because one of my more recent symptoms is blurry vision and reading has become more difficult) and found myself relating so hard it almost hurt! However, there's is one complication to my health journey - an enormous one, in my mind - and I'd love some feedback on my overall history and, in particular, the complication (which I'll get to below).

I don't want this to become too long-winded, so am going to summarize in note form, eliding much detail, and focusing more on recent events. But please feel free to ask me for more information should you think it relevant.

Personality: quiet, introverted, achievement-oriented, perfectionist in many areas of life including work, definitely relate to the "goodly" character traits Sarno describes, feel utterly outraged and depressed when people treat each other poorly.

Age 0-18: Wonderfully healthy, at least physically. I was the kid who was rarely ill, and bounced right back when I was. I was very active and ate a balanced diet (thanks to my Mum). However, I was brought up in an incredibly strict fundamentalist Christian home, and my father in particular was emotionally abusive. Even in my earliest memories of him (I was about 5) I recall that I was afraid to interact with him. I was also "lovingly" punished by spankings with a wooden spoon and, during my teens, a horse whip (yes, a horse whip, intentionally purchased by my dad for the purpose of punishment). I'm not sure if that counts as physical abuse, but I sure didn't appreciate it.