1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Importance of working with a TMS therapist?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by daisychain, Aug 3, 2024.

1. daisychain

daisychain New Member

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to TMS and learning all I can about it as I find it absolutely fascinating and mind-blowing! I've started doing some work myself but wondering if it's important to try and find a TMS therapist to work with? I feel I would benefit from support and guidance but I live in Australia where it's difficult to find anyone trained in TMS (although I'm willing to look into working with someone virtually).

If anyone has worked with a therapist I'd love to know your thoughts, was it worthwhile and do you feel it helped?

2. Andy Bayliss

Andy Bayliss TMS Coach & Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi daisychain,

(I can say that as a Coach (not a therapist) many have benefitted by using my help ---and TMS therapists' help, and many many go it alone.)

It is hard to find insurance coverage for TMS therapists, and so this limits access many places. I wanted to pass along one thing you can do working with a therapist who is not trained in a TMS approach, if you have access. After each session and in between sessions, connect what you're learning about yourself with the basic theory and practice of TMS self-diagnosis and care. Even without a special training, many therapists will help reveal to you aspects of your personality and history, and the way you deal with life situations in the moment which you can connect and "see yourself" in the TMS work.