1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Is it TMS (again)?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by andiefrance23, Aug 7, 2024.

1. andiefrance23

andiefrance23 New Member

Hello everyone,

I started getting pain in my lower back/glute October 2023 when I started training for my first 1/2 marathon. After PT not working, I miraculously stumbled upon tons of information about TMS and through awareness, meditation, journaling I was able to curb my pain/symptoms and successfully started training for my race at the end of December. My father passed away in January and the symptoms started to resurface a few weeks later, but I worked through it and finished my race with a better time than predicted. To this day, I know that I have chronic proximal hamstring tendinopathy that is highly linked with TMS and it's under control with mind body awareness, sleep, strength training and just a combination of everything.

Fast forward to today. I'm running another 1/2 marathon August 25. I've respected the training program. My hamstring flares up a little at the end of each long run, but that's totally normal because I'm adding load to it and the pain goes back down the next day. A week or so ago after my 19km (11.8 mile), I felt some tenderness in the muscle (the squishy part) of my left shin, but no pain. It was just tight. I was still able to do my training runs with zero discomfort and did another long 17km this past Monday. When I walked, it felt tight and not completely mobile, but no pain, just annoyance. I'm used to walking a lot, I'm a very active person. So, when my partner and I decided to do a long walk last night to see the Olympic flame (I live in Paris) which equaled about 15,000 steps round trip, that is nothing compared to what I usually do.