1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

My herniated disc TMS recovery story

Discussion in 'Success Stories Subforum' started by fenderstratguy42, Oct 26, 2023.

1. fenderstratguy42

fenderstratguy42 Newcomer

Hi folks, I've been writing this essay of my TMS experience in my head for a few weeks now and I just want to get it out there because I am so thankful and overjoyed at having recovered. I hope that others who find themselves in a similar situation or with a similar diagnosis can find this and get some benefit out of my experience.

Background:
    I am a 38-year old white collar professional. I have been working a desk job in front of a computer for 20 years. I am also a new father: our first baby arrived in March of 2023. My job involves sitting a computer desk all day, usually slouched in questionable posture. While I have back aches and occasional pains (have seen chiropractor for about a year in 2017), I generally feel ok and manage to balance this with enough exercise to feel fine. I go through on/off phases with habitual daily cannabis smoking, generally in very small amounts.. just "taking the edge off". I'm not a big drinker, I only drink a a beer or two per week. I gave up most exercise when the baby came and focused mostly (and stressed out) on work, to the exclusion of everything else including relaxation and my usual ways of having fun.
    I also didn't realize it until I read Dr. Sarno's books, but I also tend to be a perfectionist at work and in most things I do, I have a strong desire to avoid conflict and to please everyone, and I want to be liked (or at least not hated) by everyone. I was brought up in a Christian tradition and I took it to heart and I often put others needs and desires before my own.

May 2023: