1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Nagging Shoulder Issues

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by eightball776, Jan 15, 2024.

Tags:
  1. eightball776

eightball776 Well known member

I'm an old pro with TMS. I won't recount my whole history (lots of it already here), but I've never had shoulder issues before (aside from a torn labrum injury/repair back in '09, where I felt it rip). I am very adept at detecting tightness in my back & distinguishing between TMS-type pain & the Crohn's Disease-related inflammatory arthritis I've suffered from since adolescence. I can ease the tension & pain when it's muscular..but this shoulder thing has me confused.

I played some pickle ball back in early August. The next day my shoulders were killing me. BOTH of them, even though I'm right-handed. Anyway, both of my shoulders still hurt whenever I use them for anything, all these months later. A couple of cortisone shots helped quite a lot, but the relief lasted about 4 weeks each. I'm rehabbing them slowly, but I can't figure out the relationship to that pickleball game, the pressure I put on them while sleeping, or additional stress I've been under. It's not like back or neck pain, as I don't feel tight muscles; but I don't want to go down the MRI rabbit hole because no doubt someone will want to operate. PT tests show a rotator cuff injury, of course, but I'm not convinced of that. Either way, I'm not getting surgery. The weather definitely has an impact, and sure, there's been plenty of stress & tension, but I feel pretty confident about how/where stress gets me - in my gut & back, maybe neck once in a while... The shoulder thing though ... Anyone want to share any details about how their TMS-related shoulder pain presents? Thanks.

2. Cactusflower

Cactusflower Beloved Grand Eagle