1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Shame for not healing quickly enough

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Soph1802, Jun 14, 2023.

1. Soph1802

Soph1802 Peer Supporter

Hi everyone

Something came up for me in therapy today and I wanted to post about it. I have been doing TMS work since 2020. I have seen a lot of improvements, but I am still not healed. I am a huge TMS advocate, champion and believer, and I love this community. It genuinely saved my life, and for that I will never be able to repay it.

I have CPTSD, and whilst I’m definitely not as severe a case as many others, I’m someone who has found psychological wellness, emotional maturity and self acceptance to be some of the hardest challenges I could ever face. I have a really hard time with self compassion, perfectionism, high expectations of myself/others and always doing what I think I should be doing, not what I want. I struggle to feel comfortable in my own skin, choices, actions, decisions. I am very hyper vigilant, afraid, and filled with deep, deep shame. I understand we all feel this to some extent- that’s why we’re here! And because we all share these traits, I want to share something that may help others feel more seen: I feel a huge amount of shame for not being able to grasp this TMS stuff quicker, for not being healed yet, for still being so dysregulated and even for getting so sick and dysregulated in the first place - especially given TMS can lead us to feel like we are the reason we are struggling (I understand that this isn’t strictly true, but it can often feel that way).