1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Short Story - Large Lesson (?)

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by anacoluthon33, Jul 9, 2023.

1. anacoluthon33

anacoluthon33 Peer Supporter

Hello there. This is my first thread I’ve created for this forum. I hope that it’s in the right place, and that this kind of post is welcome.

I’m currently struggling. Rather than detail my symptoms and “lived experience,” I’d rather share a small story that, for me, helps process this experience—the experience of pain and discomfort, as well as the TMS/mindbody approach to “dealing” with it. Maybe it will help you, too.

I’m also a student of literature. Since I’ve been researching TMS and mindbody medicine, it’s struck me, again and again, how the TMS approach can and does replicate the insights of centuries-old spiritual practices. I know I’m not the first to come across this: Nicole Sachs is fond of quoting Ram Dass, Rumi, and so on.

Before sharing this small story, I want to preface it by saying that I don’t intend to “push” any spirituality/worldview/whatever. I see it as a moment to learn from, just as any other story that the TMS teachers and doctors use. I also don’t think I will include my interpretation in this first post: I am much more interested in what you see and understand, reading this story. Yes—you!

Here it is— from Idries Shah’s “The Sufis,” page 81.

One day, Nasrudin was walking along a deserted road. Night was falling as he spied a troop of horsemen coming toward him. His imagination began to work, and he feared that they might rob him, or impress him into the army. So strong did this fear become that he leaped over a wall and found himself in a graveyard. The other travelers, innocent of any such motive as had been assumed by Nasrudin, became curious and pursued him.