1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Sore throat/voice issue - does this sound like TMS?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Logan Cale, Mar 9, 2024.

1. Logan Cale

Logan Cale New Member

I keep getting a weird thing where I feel like I have a sore throat and when I speak my voice sounds hoarse or gravelly to me. However when I speak everyone says my voice sounds normal, when to me it doesn't sound right. I have recorded my voice and I am convinced it will sound hoarse, but when I play it back it sounds fine - strange!

Everything else sounds fine to me, so it can't be my hearing.

I think it's TMS just wondering what everyone else things?

Things which make me think it's TMS

1. I am a teacher and use my voice a lot so it makes sense TMS would target my voice
    2. It always seems worse on a Friday or Saturday (yes end of working week, but is there if I do fewer or more hours)
    3. If I think about it too much and worry then it seems worse
    4. I have had a history of other TMS problems i.e leg pain, foot pain, ankle pain, shoulder pain etc
    5. I did visit a doctor a while ago and they said they couldn't see anything obvious

Thanks!

2. Cactusflower

Cactusflower Beloved Grand Eagle

Yes! This is a symptom I have on and off. If you think to much about it and it gets worse...that's always a great sign it's TMS, and you are creating tension and stress.
    I totally ignore the physicality of this symptom and immediately wonder what is going on psychologically. What do I want to say that I am having a hard time expressing.

Logan Cale likes this.
  3. Logan Cale

Logan Cale New Member