1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Urgency and Frequent Urination

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by SleepyPigeon0608, Mar 5, 2024.

1. SleepyPigeon0608

SleepyPigeon0608 New Member

Hi,

I was wondering if it's true that caffeine can irritate the bladder? I know many people aren't doctors but I've seen some people who've had issues like mine have no problem drinking caffeine and remaining symptom free.

2. ARCUser831

ARCUser831 Well known member

I experience urinary urgency and frequent urination, it’s one of my primary symptoms. I tracked what I ate and drank for 2-3 months very diligently, and found absolutely no correlation to any food or beverage.

I have coffee every morning, some days I have to pee constantly or the feeling is always there. Other days, that symptom is completely absent.

Like you said, I’m no doctor, but the fact that I could not tie back my symptom to anything concrete and that it comes and goes inexplicably indicated to me that it was TMS.

Are your symptoms constant or do they come and go? Are they always worse after coffee? Keep in mind that even if your answer to that question is yes, it could be due to conditioning (i.e. expecting to have urgency after drinking and therefore having it).

It’s an extremely frustrating symptom to have but also one that, more than many other symptoms people talk about on this thread, is accepted as being caused by or tied to someone’s emotional state - namely nervousness and anxiety. One of the primary treatments for Overactive Bladder is behavioral cognitive therapy.

SleepyPigeon0608 and JanAtheCPA like this.
  3. JanAtheCPA

JanAtheCPA Beloved Grand Eagle