1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with BruceMC as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

work related stress?? how to manage it

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by White Flower PR, May 19, 2024.

1. White Flower PR

White Flower PR New Member

Hi Guys. I have a veryyy stressful job, i am a physician, also work in the ER. Today is my day #16 SEP..And i would like to ask you about stress management and how to avoid TMS symptoms...I Had a very difficult day, have been managing my TMS really good, very positive thoughts, mindfulness, symptom tracking, breathing exercices, etc...but i cant manage the symptoms while doing the job...once i finish my job, i Do okey....but during....is very difficult...any recommendations???

Bonnard and Dorado like this.
  2. Booble

Booble Beloved Grand Eagle

I wish I had an answer for you but I seem to be the reverse. When I'm working I get hyper focused on what I'm doing and forget about the symptoms. When I'm not working and/or have down time is when my mind and body go to bad places.

I'd say that when you finish your job and feel better that is the time to explore what's going on both on the surface and tucked down deeper. Seems like your subconscious TMS brain is trying to stop you from doing your job. Why?
    You need to ask yourself why. Maybe there is some deep down stuff in there.
    Maybe a fear of failure instilled by a parent or someone of authority?
    Maybe a childhood marked with "you better succeed in life" mandate?

Sarno's concept of TMS is that you've got some big, bad, anger and rage (that you don't know you have) that needs to be acknowledged, flushed out, and released.