1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with BruceMC as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

How to deal with your combative thoughts

Discussion in 'Alan Gordon TMS Recovery Program' started by dillon95, May 20, 2024.

1. dillon95

dillon95 New Member

Hello all,

So I have a lot of combative thoughts throughout the day that are always looking to correct and punish me at every turn. If I criticize someone in my head, even validly, my mind looks to "punish" me by making my symptoms worse and causing more pain. My mind tries to counteract many thoughts that I have with something fear related. Then if I conform to those fear related thoughts, it comes back and says something like "if you think that will get you out of pain and tension, you are mistaken" and it just doubles down and makes things worse.

Having said all of that, how do you guys deal with these types of thoughts? What is the best way to deal with these thoughts and calm them down? I am at a constant war with my mind and this is the toughest part of the TMS for me because it ends up creating tension and pain in my body.

2. BloodMoon

BloodMoon Beloved Grand Eagle