1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Possible Link Between Lichen Sclerosus Being A TMS Equivalent

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by GhostlyMarie, Jun 9, 2024.

1. GhostlyMarie

GhostlyMarie New Member

Hello everyone! I am not sure if this is the correct place to post this but I wanted to share some things I have discovered along the way of my own pelvic pain healing journey. Now, I want to preface this by saying I do not personally have LS and I am also not a doctor, I am simply a curious bee who had vulvodynia and fell down the rabbit hole of unexplained pelvic health issues. Although, there was a moment when I thought that I might have LS and like anyone who has health anxiety and fear would, I did a lot of research on it.

For those who don't know what Lichen Sclerosus is, it’s an inflammatory autoimmune disease of unknown etiology that typically manifests in the genital area. It can cause red patches,, genital fissures, itching, burning, skin discoloration and fusing of the genital skin. It can be quite debilitating. There is also the “no known cause, no known cure” label tied to this condition which always sends the ‘this might be TMS’ alert to go off in my head. Typically when you hear that doctors are stumped after doing extensive testing, it’s usually a nervous system/brain issue. HOWEVER!

Along my research, I questioned this condition because if skin issues like eczema, psoriasis, hives, things of this nature could be caused by TMS, why couldn’t LS also be a TMS manifestation? I started digging into anecdotal testimonies on Reddit, the LS Support Forum and The LS Support Network on YouTube and found some interesting links:

- many of the women suffering from LS had a prior experience with sexual abuse/childhood sexual abuse/ACES.