1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

What if the symptoms are the trauma?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Soph1802, Nov 1, 2023.

1. Soph1802

Soph1802 Peer Supporter

Hi all

I’ve had TMS all my life. However, in 2020 I had a full breakdown and exceptionally dramatic medication withdrawal which led me to TMS work. I have been doing it for over 3 years now. I have healed many of my symptoms, but am stuck with Dysautonomia that I’m struggling to overcome. I fully believe that it is TMS. What I do struggle with is: a) that it isn’t doing long term damage to my body - I don’t believe it will kill me today, but I struggle to believe I could live with this until I’m 65 with no further issues as i’m totally debilitated, exhausted and overwhelmed at times and I’m only 32, and b) the time when I first had these symptoms was totally traumatising for me and these symptoms were the trauma. I was totally and utterly terrified of my body, hospitalised for days during Covid, totally alone, told it could be all sorts from tumours to aneurysms to MS, and had a full mental breakdown. I was not well, suicidal and totally lost. I have come a very long way, and broadly speaking, live a relatively normal life now, but I still have almost constant symptoms and I’m not happy in many ways. Objectively I should be: I have a wonderful partner, job, friends. But I am so afraid of and frustrated with my body, coupled with the exhaustion from it going on for so long, I have zero belief or motivation in my ability to overcome that fear and frustration to cure the TMS.