1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Bookmark

Thread:
Keeping the belief.. any advice?
If I recall correctly, Dr. Sarno wrote in one of his TMS books about the patient who told him she could not make the "leap of faith" he prescribed. He told her she did not need to make a leap of faith but rather a leap of understanding. That might have been word play, but I think it is easier to keep the belief needed to recover from TMS and its equivalents, like dizziness and headaches, if one has a scientifically based understanding of what is going on in his or her body to produce the symptoms.

With resect to science-based understanding of symptoms lacking an identifiable structural cause, I need to preface what I am going to say with the caveat that I am a rank amateur when it comes to physiology. But here goes: