1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

TMS caused by surgery?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by platypodes, Apr 26, 2021.

1. platypodes

platypodes New Member

Hello everybody, I am new here and this is my first time posting. I am still trying to figure out if my pain is caused by TMS, because my pain was the direct result of a surgery. Seven years ago I had a cosmetic procedure called a sliding genioplasty where they move your chin forward (I had a slightly recessed chin). Ever since then I’ve had pain in the exact area that the incision was made in the crease of my chin. The pain feels like a tightness and is pretty much always present, although the intensity changes. My thoughts are as follows...

Reasons it Might Not be TMS:

1. The pain is very consistent with muscle pain: it feels like a tightness that gets worse as the day goes on. My pain is much better in the morning, which is consistent with muscle pain/spasms because muscles are paralyzed during REM sleep. Also, if I don’t take my daily muscle relaxers, the pain gets much worse.

2. Like I mentioned, it began after surgery. Many folks with TMS seem to have developed it without a clear physical cause, so I feel like I’m in a minority with having pain that started with a tissue injury.

Reasons it Might be TMS:

1. Botox injections didn’t help (although it’s possible it was injected into the wrong muscle).

2. I have a profound trauma history and that seems to be true for many folks with TMS.