1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with BruceMC as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 1 Desperation, Hope, and Doubt all wrapped up in anxiety

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Ruth65, Jul 21, 2024.

1. Ruth65

Ruth65 Newcomer

Hello!

I am new to this program. A friend recommended Dr. Sarno's Healing Back Pain to me years ago for my neck, but I "poo poo-ed" it as quackery. But a couple of days before Thanksgiving, I suffered a complete blowout of my back and ended up in the ER. They did x-rays and gave me meds and a consult for an orthopaedist. It was awful. My husband had to help me on and off the toilet for two days (humiliating!). Since then, I've run the gamut of X-ray, MRI (2 herniated discs and a bulging disc, plus some degenerative disc disease), chiropractor, physical therapy, massage, and pain management. And after 8 months, I'm still in pain. It's not the pain so much, though, as the "out of left field" way that it hits me. I can do the same thing a hundred times, but on the hundred and first time, I'm put out of commission. This has ruined my life. It's ruined research trips, family trips, work, my enjoyment of life. So, I turned to Dr. Sarno's book and had hope. But doubt is there, too. Certainly, the snap, crackle, pop in my back (which I did not have before my blowout) are signs of structural issues, right? I can totally accept that my emotional state (I've been called a "stress junky" by many who know me well) can affect my physical state, but certainly there has to be a physical element as well, right?