1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Dr. Hanscom's Blog The Ringing in My Ears

Discussion in 'Mindbody Blogs (was Practitioner's Corner)' started by Back In Control Blog, Oct 27, 2012.

1. Back In Control Blog

Back In Control Blog Well known member

Youth

People are correct when they point out the youth is wasted on the young. Many of my current physical issues were caused by my invincibility during my teenage years combined with an inability to listen to adult advice. Protecting my ears was one of those unheeded pieces of advice.

The Destruction of My Hearing

I worked as a carpenter and hod carrier from age fourteen until almost 30. I spent every summer and most of my vacations during medical school and college building houses. The summer before medical school I built a house for my parents. Although I was involved in many aspects of construction the most frequent work was framing and pouring concrete slabs. I used a Skil saw a good share of the day. I never thought about how loud the saw was even when I was using it close to my ears. Fellow workers mentioned ear protection but I just did not see the need. To finish my ears off I would also use a nail gun to shoot nails through 2 x 4 floor plates into concrete. This involved loading a .22 caliber bullet into a small driver. I would load the 16-penny nail and position it over the 2 x 4 and pull the trigger. The sound was also magnified by the fact that usually these devices were used in basements. I would do it all day long and still the thought of using ear protection didn’t seem relevant.

The Ringing Begins