1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Need reassurance and advice for RSI/TMS recovery

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Cats_and_Books, Mar 7, 2023.

1. Cats_and_Books

Cats_and_Books New Member

Hello!

I started my TMS journey officially with the program 24 days ago, and it's been going pretty well! I read a lot of books, have been journaling, and attending the weekly chats (everyone is so helpful there, thank you!). I needed some reassurance because lately I've gotten some pain, and I was hoping to hear some advice or input.

For my story, I developed pain in my right wrist in 2020 and it eventually spread up my arm to my left hand, shoulders, and upper back, so much so that I had to quit my job (I'm an artist) and move back home. I've effectively been stuck and unemployed since then, save for forcing myself to get back to work in 2021 and not being able to withstand the pain and quitting once more. I had a previous injury in the same right wrist in 2016 that lasted a year, but in hindsight, that was most likely also TMS too that went and came back. I used to think I had tendonitis.

I need support because I've been having some issues lately. I went through many medical practitioners before being told that there is nothing structurally wrong with me to the extent that it would be causing the amount of pain I'm in. That's when I turned to TMS, and like many, I found myself in every page (perfectionist, goodist, high achiever, etc.).

I can say upon reading the book, 100% of my shoulder and back pain disappeared. In an instant, actually. The second I recognized it was TMS.